december, 2012

by banannalouise

All the past we leave behind,
We debouch upon a newer mightier world, varied world,
Fresh and strong the world we seize, world of labor and the march,
Pioneers! O pioneers!

The end of the world being nigh is not what motivated this post. But in any case, we can all be better for a week, just in case. We can always do better.

I have made some questionable decisions up until this moment (and let’s be honest will continue to do so), but today, things are different. Today, I started running again and for real (a cool and blue 7:30am). Today, and for 12 months after, I am going to be oh-so patient and unfickle and grow out my hair (for real). I am going to cuddle with Hank and Johnny the kittens at least five times a day, watch still more French films and discuss them with enthusiasm and not a bit of loftiness, I am going to eat mustardy kale salads with kidney and ceci beans and perfect boiled eggs chopped into a flurry of rich yellow and waxy white. I am going to exude positivity.

It’s not the new year, yet, but it is a new day. And maybe the world is about to end. In any case, I can do better.

Walt Whitman / images from Pinterest

