en brodo

by banannalouise

I made edamame en brodo today, and it was grand.

As ever, simplicity and genius are bosom buddies in such a recipe. It’s straightforward– simmer something in (free range organic, please!) chicken broth, and you will have something mighty fine. But if you must know, get out a heavy-bottomed soup pot.

I chopped up 3/4 of a red onion, a celery heart, a large handful of flat-leaf parsley, some mint, and minced some garlic.

I heated up a knob of butter and threw in the onion, celery, and parsley with salt & pepper– saute the mixture until it is soft and fragrant. Then, I added the garlic and mint, and sauteed this for a little while longer.

I dumped in a bag of frozen, shelled edamame and cooked them for a few.

Next, I added a quart of chicken broth, brought it to a boil, and turned it down to let it all simmer away, spiking it with Crystal hot sauce and celery salt. Once the beans were supple, nutty & tender, and the broth was reduced, I added several dashes of rice vinegar and swirled in another pat of butter and a final pinch of salt.

What you will have are severely delicious, well seasoned edamame in a shallow, piquant broth.

The dish tastes simultaneously of springtime and comfort food, so dig in.

